Regional Profile

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) was created on August 1, 1989 through Republic Act No. 6734. It is bounded on the North by the Province of Lanao del Norte, on the east by Cotabato and Bukidnon; on the west by the Sulu Sea; and on the south by the Celebs Sea. The Region has two groups of provinces the mainland (composed of Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao) and the archipelagic provinces of Sulu and Tawi – Tawi. Republic Act No. 9054 expanded the ARMM composition to include the Province of Basilan and Marawi City (formerly under Region IX and XII, respectivley) in August 14, 2001 plebiscite.



The Department of Agriculture was devolved to the ARMM on May 17, 1991 by virtue of Executive Order No. 460. The powers and function, the control and supervision over its offices in the region and for other purposes where likewise devolved and this paved the way for the birth of the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries in the ARMM.

The mainland provinces of Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao are being tapped to produce more food and feed crops as well as commercial crops and livestock poultry. While the Inland Provinces of Sulu and Tawi-Tawi are geared toward the development of its marine-based products, like seaweeds farming and fishing industry through the leadership of the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries.